In addition to the fees to have a document notarized, my notary costs may include travel fees, convenience fees, and other fees for specialized services.
California Maximum Notary Fees
Notary costs are made up of several elements. Maximum rates for notarizations are mandated by California law. However, this doesn’t take into consideration the costs of travel; the state allows notaries to charge extra for their travel time. In addition, I reserve the right to charge a convenience fee. The most common occurrence of this is if the client requests an unusual time to meet due to their work schedule or other reasons. California law allows notaries to charge up to $15 per notarized signature.
- $15 per notarized signature
- Travel Fee (see chart below)
- Convenience Fee (fees for unusual time of day, or wait time – I don’t charge for the first 10 minutes, then it’s $1 minute after that)
For example, a husband and wife both need to sign a document that requires a notarized signature in two locations, and an un-notarized signature in one location. The total would be 4 notarized signatures, which would be $60, plus any travel/convenience fees.
Cash and all major credit cards are accepted. Checks may be accepted from businesses. Receipts for services are available upon request.
If you have questions about what types of identification may be used, please view our list of Acceptable ID.
The following chart is for general use. You may be charged more or less. Travel and convenience fees will be stated when making your appointment.
KMS – Mobile Notary Travel Fee Chart by Service Area
I can travel to other cities not listed on chart, depending on my schedule.
Service Area 1 Bethel IslandBrentwoodKnightsenOakleyDiscovery BaySouth AntiochUp to $35Plus $1/minute Waiting Time
Service Area 2 North AntiochByronMountain HouseTracyNorth Livermore Up to $45Plus $1/minute Waiting Time
Service Area 3 South LivermoreClaytonConcordPittsburg Up to $55Plus $1/minute Waiting Time
I also process Apostilles – click here to go to my Apostille website page
County Recording Services Fees
I offer county recording services for Contra Costa County only. For example, a typical document would be a Power of Attorney, which is sometimes required by title or escrow companies when future real estate transactions are expected to be handled by the principal’s agent. I will take your paperwork to the county office, and pay the clerk-recorder fees for you. The costs for recording vary; it mostly depends on how many pages the document has, and to some extent, what the document is. Most recordable items take 4-6 weeks before you will receive the official filed copy back via mail, but they are considered “recorded” immediately. Other charges will include any convenience fees, plus travel.
I will provide a complete quote (without recorder’s fees) when arrangements are made. Click here for the Contra Costa County Fee Schedule. Click here for the county’s Vital Records Fee Schedule. These links give you an idea of costs associated with the recording of a document. A credit card is required for this service since the county clerk’s fees can change without notice.